It’s been over a year since we crowned Kerr Thomson’s thrilling and atmospheric THE SOUND OF WHALES the winner of the 2014 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition – and now the 2015 winner has been announced! Head over to our submissions page for more info on how to enter this year’s competition.

 

If you’re looking to be whisked away to a world where anything is possible, THE BIG WISH and CIRCUS MIRANDUS are perfect reads – or for slightly older readers we have IF YOU WERE ME, a thrilling teen crime mystery which will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very last page. For fans of YA, SALT & STONE is the hotly-anticipated second book in the Fire & Flood series – a gripping and exhilarating must-read!

 

We’re also very excited about the BIG GAME movie hitting the big screen in May. Have you read the book yet? Let us know what you think by tweeting us at @chickenhsebooks

24th April 2015

TOP 5 FRIDAY: Castles

Oh, to be lord or lady of one’s own castle. The turrets! The moats! The … other castley bits! Unfortunately, unless you’re a royal in medieval Germany or a knight of the round table, the likeliness of owning your own castle is slim – luckily, there’s a ton of...

Read More
23rd April 2015

MY FIRST (PROPER) LONDON BOOK FAIR

I first visited the London Book Fair in 2012 as an intern. It was a pleasant day spent wafting in and out of talks, soaking in the bookish buzz, sipping coffees and browsing lovely display stands, occasionally nipping to my ‘home stall’ to gaze at the crowds and enjoy the infectious...

Read More
The Times Childrens Fiction Competition

The Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition 2016 ...

... is now open! Visit our submissions page for more information. 

Find out more


Need advice?

We no longer accept unsolicited submissions. But do take a look at our submissions page for our top tips on writing for children and for details of our annual children's fiction competition.

Numbers 3: Infinity
The Icemark Chronicles 1: The Cry of the Icemark
Big Game
Flashes: Part One (eBook)
Girl About Time (Ruby Red: Book 1)
The Girl with the Broken Wing (Reissue)
Haunters

Browse our bestsellers and new titles...

View more books