It’s been over a year since we crowned Kerr Thomson’s thrilling and atmospheric THE SOUND OF WHALES the winner of the 2014 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition – and now the 2015 winner has been announced! Head over to our submissions page for more info on how to enter this year’s competition.

 

If you’re looking to be whisked away to a world where anything is possible, THE BIG WISH and CIRCUS MIRANDUS are perfect reads – or for slightly older readers we have IF YOU WERE ME, a thrilling teen crime mystery which will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very last page. For fans of YA, SALT & STONE is the hotly-anticipated second book in the Fire & Flood series – a gripping and exhilarating must-read!

 

We’re also very excited about the BIG GAME movie hitting the big screen in May. Have you read the book yet? Let us know what you think by tweeting us at @chickenhsebooks

29th May 2015

TOP 5 FRIDAY: Kid Detectives

Detectives have to be more than just plain nosy – only the truly tough, steely and determined will get to the bottom of the crime. As Humphrey Bogart says in ‘The Big Sleep’ (when asked why he keeps on investigating):  ‘Too many people told me to...

Read More
22nd May 2015

TOP 5 FRIDAY: Small Characters

Being a very tall person, our Rights Director Elinor has always loved all things small – especially in children’s books …

1. ARRIETTY from The Borrowers by Mary Norton

There is something about Arrietty that makes you know that anything is possible – and that being small...

Read More
The Times Childrens Fiction Competition

The Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition 2016 ...

... is now open! Visit our submissions page for more information. 

Find out more


Need advice?

We no longer accept unsolicited submissions. But do take a look at our submissions page for our top tips on writing for children and for details of our annual children's fiction competition.

Reckless (PB Reissue)
The Drowning
The Hit
Inkheart Trilogy Book 3: Inkdeath (PB)
The Castle
Breaking Butterflies
Tunnels Series Book 6: Terminal (eBook)

Browse our bestsellers and new titles...

View more books