It’s been over a year since we crowned Kerr Thomson’s thrilling and atmospheric THE SOUND OF WHALES the winner of the 2014 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition – and now the 2015 winner has been announced! Head over to our submissions page for more info on how to enter this year’s competition.

 

If you’re looking to be whisked away to a world where anything is possible, THE BIG WISH and CIRCUS MIRANDUS are perfect reads – or for slightly older readers we have IF YOU WERE ME, a thrilling teen crime mystery which will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very last page. For fans of YA, SALT & STONE is the hotly-anticipated second book in the Fire & Flood series – a gripping and exhilarating must-read!

 

We’re also very excited about the BIG GAME movie hitting the big screen in May. Have you read the book yet? Let us know what you think by tweeting us at @chickenhsebooks

1st May 2015

MAY DAY OPEN COOP!

It’s May day – and the first bank holiday weekend of the year! Chicken House is celebrating with true spring spontaneity: for 24 hours only, we’re accepting unsolicited submissions for mystery novels aimed at a middle grade (8-12) audience. If you’ve written a complete novel...

Read More
30th April 2015

TOP 5 FRIDAY: Deaths

There’s nothing better than a good story – one that makes you fall in love with the heroes and heroines despite all their faults. But the trauma of their deaths is something hard to get over … This week, Laura Myers shares five of the most memorable deaths in children’s...

Read More
The Times Childrens Fiction Competition

The Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition 2016 ...

... is now open! Visit our submissions page for more information. 

Find out more


Need advice?

We no longer accept unsolicited submissions. But do take a look at our submissions page for our top tips on writing for children and for details of our annual children's fiction competition.

Lucky
Reckless (PB)
The Killing Woods
The Boy in the Biscuit Tin (Reissue)
Claws
Zac and the Dream Pirates
A Little in Love

Browse our bestsellers and new titles...

View more books