Buy the Book

Extract

When the door crashed open, Dalton Fly was holding his breath in the shadows, his back pressed against the cool marble of a thick pillar and his eyes pleading with a playing card. That lucky Jack, spattered in Bennie’s blood, had somehow saved his life. He couldn’t leave it. From where he was hiding, Dalton could see the Jack’s face staring at him, smudged in red. It was lying face up at the edge of the rug near the fireplace, perhaps a dozen strides away, Dalton thought. He blinked and his vision smudged and blurred again; everything was a wash of swimming shapes for a moment. He rubbed his eyes. There was blood on his hands and under his fingernails. Dalton was sure of one thing: two men had come into the room and they had pistols; he heard the click of a cap drawn back to shoot.

About the book

Poison boy Dalton Fly, a lowly food taster to the rich, has a lucky escape after drinking laced wine.

But his mate is less fortunate, and Dalton wants answers. Who murdered his friend, and what were they really after?

With the help of aristocratic girl Scarlet Dropmore, whose life he unwittingly saved, he sets out to rescue his city from the poisoners within.

Share this:

Press reviews

“Thrilling, richly imagined, swashbuckling adventure for ages 10-14.”

LOVE READING

“An action-packed. Historical adventure, full of grisly goings-on, dastardly plots and near-death escapes. We loved it.”

TBK MAGAZINE

“This thrilling tale moves at breakneck speed, with danger never far away ... a rich and exciting story from a prize-winning author...”

THE BOOK BAG

Author notes

'I always wanted to write, but it took me a long time to find the confidence to leave trends behind … Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines trilogy was sort of an epiphany for me … It opened my eyes to the possibilities of writing for younger audiences and redefined the genre [for me].'

The Poison Boy in the news

M.A. Griffin's top 5 writing tips

We are super excited to share Lifers by M.A. Griffin with the wider world this month. An atmospheric noir thriller set in future Manchester, Lifers is packed full of high-octane adventure and tension, and is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner. Here, M.A. Griffin shares his top tips for aspiring writers ...

Continue reading

Children's Fiction Competition: What Makes a Winner?

So you’ve written your children’s novel – or perhaps you’re planning on writing one before our 18 December deadline! – but either way you’re probably curious about what we’re looking for. Here’s a little info on past winners for an insight into ...

Continue reading

More news

Video

Rights

World

Sold

Australia, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, USA